Home » RDBMS Server » Server Administration » I used MV rbs01.dbf instead of CP, everything is hosed!
I used MV rbs01.dbf instead of CP, everything is hosed! [message #50842] Wed, 10 April 2002 17:45 Go to next message
John Pinochet
Greetings!

I'm an Oracle newbie, so bear with me.

I have two Oracle instances running, SID1, and SID2.

An insert statement failed due to no remaining diskspace for SID1.

rbs01.dbf could not be increased in size.

I looked at the settings in DBA Studio for SID1 rbs01.dbf, and saw that they were correct and allowed for growth.

I did a df -k, and quickly found that the problem was that the partition where rbs01.dbf (SID1) was located was 100% full.

I shutdown the (SID1) and (SID2) databases and used the following command to move rbs01.dbf to another empty partition.

mv rbs01.dbf /another empty partition

df -k showed that the move occured as the current partition had space and the new partion was now occupied by rbs01.dbf.

I then realized I had made a mistake as I now needed to perform the RENAME command, so I copied the file from its new partion back to the old partion, using CP.

I then logged into the (SID1) database via svrmgrl, and tried to perform alter database rename file and received an error, ORA-01516: nonexistent log file....even though the file is there in both the new and old partition.

Also, the paths in the command were correct.

Thinking the password file was corrupt, I saved it to another directory, deleted it, and then performed the ORAPWD command, and yes, the correct path was used specifying SID1 database.

Wanting to now see what DBA Studio would show me, I logged in, and found that SID1 did display...BUT...it wasn't SID1, it was SID2!

I did a ps -ef, and it showed that the processes running were labeled SID1, (and no SID2 processes were running).

In DBA Studio for the SID1 database, the display of tables, usernames, etc is in fact the SID2 database.